If you are facing a assault charge in Tennessee, consider hiring a criminal assault lawyer, who can investigate the case and determine if you were wrongfully charged or if there are other grounds on which the case could be dismissed before trial. As Nashville assault lawyers, we do see many people wrongfully charged with assault. It is usually faster and less expensive for these types of cases when clients hire us right after the incident. Even if you have not been wrongfully accused, the sooner you get a lawyer, the better your chances are.
A great many of our clients have some level of guilt. There are many ways to avoid a conviction even when there is no factual defense.
Looking for other charges related to assault? The most common searches related to assault are criminal attorney, order of protection lawyer, domestic violence lawyer, aggravated assault, and domestic assault.
“Cynthia represented me in a charge that would have ruined my life but was able to get a resolution. The outcome was better than I could have ever imagined. Words could never explain how appreciative I am of Cynthia. She is a very smart and compassionate attorney who knows her stuff. She always made herself available on the phone/email and always responded to my queries promptly. Above all she is a great human being who genuinely cares for her clients on a legal and personal level. I would highly recommend her to anyone.”
Tennessee classifies Simple Assault as a Class A misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to 11 months and 29 days in jail or a fine up $2,500, or both. A misdemeanor charge of assault would be sought in the event a defendant’s action resulted in minor bodily injury of another person such as a small cut, scrape, or bruise, or if a defendant threatens to harm another person, and that person becomes reasonably afraid that the defendant would harm them. You should consult with an assault lawyer as soon as possible.
Source: Tenn. Code Ann. §39-13-101
Depending on the severity of the injury, an additional monetary penalty can be added. A person convicted of simple assault may also be required to pay restitution to their victim. Restitution would include reimbursing the victim for any expenses resulting from the assault, such as the cost of medical treatment, counseling, repair, or replacement of any damaged property.
Assault Can Be A Class B Misdemeanor:
In bullet #2 of the assault definition, a person can be charged with assault without ever touching the another person. Physical contact that is provocative or offensive (bullet #3 in the definition) is the only Class B misdemeanor. The punishment for a Class B misdemeanor can be up to six months in jail, a fine up to $500, or both.
Tennessee law provides certain alternatives to a jail sentence for a person facing simple assault in Tennessee.
Alternatives to jail sentences may be judicial diversions or suspended sentences, but obtaining experienced legal counsel is extremely critical in negotiating the terms of these alternative sentences.
Disclaimer: None of the content on this site should be considered as legal advice or counsel. For professional legal advice on any legal matter, contact Sherwood Boutique Litigation at (615) 873-5670